Mighty Boots

Like so many people out there I am completely and utterly taken by the TV show (it’s so much more though) The Mighty Boosh. The kookiness, the surreality, the banter (especially the banter) and the devil may care attitudes they have in producing the show just suck me in, and I never want to stop watching. I feel like Noel and Julian (the main actors, Vince and Howard respectively) do what they find amusing and devil take the rest of us if we don’t.

Anyway, one of the major things about the show that really inspires me is the character Vince’s and by extension Noel Fielding’s wardrobe. The fact that he takes random styles and makes them cool (like the Jacobean ruff coming back into style one episode, or wet suits in another) is the best. I never thought I’d think a complete body suit made of silver sequins to be cool but Vince shows us otherwise. And there’s so many things like this throughout the show.

While not all of Vince’s fashion triumphs are directly translatable to myself there are a number of things he wears that are just SO FUCKING COOL e.g. the meggings (ultra tight skinny jeans he wears), the funky jackets, but most of all I am in love with the boots he has. The pointy toes, the heels, the colors, the boots are mindblowing. And for quite a while now I’ve been looking for a pair for myself. My first thought on where to look was Brunswick st because if there’s anywhere in Melbourne that has the right sort of Camden, Mighty Boosh vibe it’s Brunswick st. So I went there and found a pretty cool pair of boots that were similar to what I was looking for, albeit with the wrong heels, a boring black color and and weird toes.

old boots

old boots

They also had a cool like metal attachment like spurs but without the actual spurs bit. Of course I showed them to all my friends (some loved them, some hated them) and found out that that particular type of shoe is called a winklepicker.

Just the other day I bought the new live Boosh DVD (future sailors tour) and Noel had these awesome boots that were miles ahead of mine in terms of sheer style. The heel was different, the toe was different, and most of all the boots were silver. Silver! So there and then I decided to get a pair for me. I did a lot of searching for winklepickers but couldn’t find what I wanted. I checked out the Wikipedia page on them and found they’re also called chelsea boots, and some have what’s called a cuban heel. Armed with this new knowledge I scoured ebay and fell in love.

silver winklepickers

silver winklepickers

Long story short, I bought them last night 😀 apparently they should only take 7 days to get here by courier too so I’ll have them for a mates big birthday thing next weekend. Fucking go me.

Moral of the story? If you want a pair of boots like that they are called either winklepickers or chelsea boots, and you must make sure they have a cuban heel. But don’t get silver, because that that color’s MINE!

3 Responses to “Mighty Boots”


  1. 1 Casey the great 12/05/2010 at 10:15 am

    haha i get it
    Mighty Boots
    Mighty Boosh

  2. 2 Henry 19/02/2011 at 1:30 am

    Hi, Welcome to the converted! Winklepicker chelsea boots with a cuban heel and skin tight low waist jeans are simply the fucking coolest. Wear with a cropped jacket or short leather biker jacket, both with slieves pulled up, collar up, white wayfarers, and fedora hat. You too late – I also have a pair of silver ones, also white patent leather and imitation leopard – simply could not resist. Google Underground shoes in the UK have the ones with highest heels, but check out Virgin Blak for stuff to go with.

    • 3 nrk03 24/02/2011 at 1:50 pm

      thanks for your (helpful but competitive) reply but the articles quite old ive had my silver pair for a year and a half getting on for two years now? and i have white and red as well to round out my collection. my next move is too get some underground shoes as you said they have the highest heel 🙂


Leave a Reply

