Meggings! Jacket! Shiny!

I’M SO FUCKING EXCITED!! Sorry, but I had to get that out of the way. I just couldn’t think of another way to start this post either, I’m not very creative. Why so excited, you ask? Well for several very good reasons actually, read on to find out ALL about it (in excruciating detail that no one cares for except for your truly).

Thanks to the advice of a mate, I went to Cotton On and bought myself a pair of meggings, something I’ve been meaning to do for quite a while. First off, they were only $25 so straight away really really cheap (compared to skinny jeans etc) and good value no matter how much or little I wear them. I make a point of that, if I’m trying a new look I’ll get the signature piece cheap and that way if it doesn’t pan out (I can’t make it work) it doesn’t really affect my bank balance anyway. No up front investment required. Good advice that.

I must say the experience of crossing over from the mens side of the store to the women’s side is odd (and somewhat intimidating), and I think my brother summed it up best when he described it as you “feeling like people will think you’re a pervert”. That’s exactly what it feels like too, that  you’re a pervert for wanting to wear women’s clothes and everyone’s looking at you and judging you and thinking “what a pervert”. I probably am though.

So I got the meggings and they’re fucking awesome, I dont think I’ve been this happy with a clothing purchase in ages (apart from all the other clothing I bought recently, they’re my best purchases in ages). They’re just a basic black wet look pair of tights and first thing that guys should know about women’s tights is that they are really comfortable (I’m wearing them now) and based on this and other observations I’m going to say that girls get all the best clothes. Also whenever I go into a store with women’s and mens clothing I prefer to check out the women’s stuff, mostly because of how it’s all shiny, but also because it’s all so much more interesting and exciting. And I miss that, I used to get it, that excitement when you had discovered a new style or look or whatever and how it opened up this whole vista of possibilities and you’d get this giddy feeling of excitement. Actually that perfectly sums up my first impression of the G-Star collection when it was first launched in Australia and I first saw it advertised (in mX if I remember rightly), it was like someone had reinvented jeans and we were on the forefront of a clothing revolution. Obviously that never happened and there are still bumpkins in the sticks wearing their Billabong jeans but I guess I got a bit swept up but I miss that feeling all the same. I get the same thing every now and again when I see a film or read a book or discover something new and exciting and fresh and unique. So this is the first item of clothing I’ve got to go toward my new style I want to pioneer, a mighty fusion of metal/glam/rocker looks into one sexy package (me, believe it or not).

I’ve also been wanting for a while now to grab a jacket that’s light and shiny, dressy so I can wear it out at night, or on cool days, and that’s smart and flexible. Also shiny, did I mention that? And I found this jacket at work, (G-Star, of course), it’s called the new tech jacket and its shiny electric blue, literally sex with sleeves (oh and pockets). So I’m pretty excited about that. To properly illustrate why I’m so excited I will now include pictures to inspire (and to make you jealous).

Credit to Topas for taking the happy snaps.

Also, before I go, the boots are on their way. They should be here already but due to a mishap it’ll be another two weeks or so. Hold tight, and there’ll definitely be more posts before that. Until then enjoy 🙂

electro metal glam rock

well, the jacket looks good at least

electro metal glam rock

a sexy beast

electro metal glam rock

sleek pins

0 Responses to “Meggings! Jacket! Shiny!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

