The importance of accessorizing

Oftentimes, even with an amazing outfit you can find that your appearance lacks a certain je ne sais quoi. When one does some really in-depth analysis it quite often boils down to a simple lack of accessorizing and/or styling. Shirts, pants, and shoes do not an outfit make. You’ll end up looking like a jedi all swathed in cloth, that is, boring (at least they have lightsabers). The way to really add OOMPH and STYLE to any outfit is (drum roll please) …accessorizing. Yes, that’s right, simply adorning yourself with extra items which serve no real purpose other than enhancing your outfit is my preferred method of dressing. It’s like having a conversation with someone who has something to say about everything, there’s lots to say, you just hope its worth hearing, and the same goes for accessorizing, you need to make sure that whatever you’re wearing is worth displaying.

So how do we accessorize? Well, there are loads of ways and all of them allow you to further express your own individual style. Basically any part of your body not covered in clothes you can wear accessories. Different things you can wear are rings, bracelets, scarves, glasses, belts, some types of jackets (blazers, coats etc), necklaces, nail polish, earings, tattoos, headbands, hats, etc. Kind of an exhaustive list you can dip into when looking to accessorize.

My suggestion for basic accessorizing would be rings, bracelets, and sunnies, and possibly a necklace (scarf for winter). Thats a good basic kit so to speak. Now, it’s very important when accessorizing that you ensure that you are creating/extending your own style as bad accessories look tacked on and uninteresting. A perfect example is not getting Ray Bans Wayfarers, just because every man and his dog now have a pair. I’m not knocking them by the way, they are definitely a nice style of sunglasses but there are plenty of other nice sunglasses out there, and very high on my list of advice is not following trends (too much anyway) as it doesn’t denote style as much as mindless herd following, something I can’t abide. Robert Patinson wears them, that alone should be reason enough not to. For example, I’m currently looking at getting some new sunglasses, and the style I’m looking at is a round horn-rim style. They are very much in fashion because of the tortoiseshell frames (just becoming popular at the moment) and the 60’s/70’s look, but at the same time they’re quite unique and don’t ape the wayfarer look. You might remember one of my earlier posts mentioned new frames that were becoming more popular, aka the Oliver people’s frames (the frames in the picture of that post are called Clubmaster frames), well they’ve become too popular and now everyone has them and you can buy cheapies pretty much anywhere. So that’s why I’m not going for them.

old school horn rim glasses

The best way to accessorize is to figure out a genre/style/look that pretty much only you do (mine’s electro-space-glam-rock n roll) so that you have your basic look sorted. The more adjectives you have the more specific and therefore unique your style will be. Just a heads up. Anyway, next work out what accessories you need to complement that style. That way you never end up just being swayed by the masses and looking boring. Another example (sorry if I sound self-centered, but I’m own best example) is that I wanted to get a necklace, but I wasn’t sure what to get except that it obviously couldn’t be trendy (aka no cruicifixes, rosaries or thick figaro chains). I thought about putting different objects on a chain, I had some bad ideas (upside down crucifix, ring, vampire teeth) and then some good but impractical ideas like for example a little vial of my own blood on a chain. Finally I figured out an old key on a chain would be an awesome look and voila! I have a new necklace that’s different. I’d just like to add at this point that I’m aware some women have keys on chains (Swarovski do a crystal studded one) but the look I’m going for is more of a “found” look IE I just happen to have strung an old key I have on a chain. But I’m aware I’m not the only person to do this look…just one of the very very few. Also, the benefit of the “found” look is that it makes the accessory look like it was your sudden inspiration and not something that was carefully calculated which of course enhances the unique look of the item. Yes I’m aware it’s misleading.

So I hope this helps anyone who actually reads this blog in getting some cool looks happening, and if you use any ideas or are (possibly) inspired by what I’ve written take a photo and share your look. Until next time folks, same glam time, same glam channel 😀

